Board of Directors

ellie_danielsNACPM President
Ellie Daniels, CPM, founded Morningstar Midwifery in 1983 and continues in active home birth practice today. Ellie is on the faculty at Birthwise Midwifery School, and served on the Board for the Midwifery Education Accreditation Council for 12 years. She has worked tirelessly for licensure in Maine and on the federal MAMA Campaign since 2009, and was elected to the NACPM BOD in 2012.

audrey_levineNACPM Vice President
Audrey Levine, LM CPM, has been a licensed midwife in Olympia, Washington since 2001. She was the President of the Midwives’ Association of WA State (MAWS) from 2008-2012 and continues to serve on the MAWS Board as Chair of the Legislative Committee. She is a member of the Home Birth Summit Collaboration Workgroup that just released the “Best Practice Guidelines: Transfer from Planned Home Birth to Hospital” and is the Project Coordinator for Smooth Transitions, a quality-improvement initiative of the WA State Perinatal Collaborative to enhance the safety of planned out-of-hospital birth transports.

tanya_khemetNACPM Secretary
Tanya Khemet, CPM MPH, is a licensed midwife at a Federally Qualified Health Center in Sacramento, caring for low-income families in a multi-disciplinary setting. She comes from a family tradition of midwives, was trained at Seattle Midwifery School, and apprenticed with midwives in Seattle, Senegal and Jamaica. She joined NACPM in the fall of 2012 because of her commitment to bringing the midwifery model of care to the medically underserved and those at risk of poor birth outcomes.

kaye_kanneNACPM Treasurer
Kaye Kanne, CDM, CPM, is a licensed midwife and founder of the Juneau Family Health and Birth Center, a nonprofit organization that combines healthcare, family support and midwife birth center in one location. Kaye worked with the Alaska legislature to create a Board for Certified Direct Entry Midwives in 1992 and Medicaid coverage for CDM’s in 1993. She is treasurer of NACPM and also serves on the Commission for the Accreditation of Birth Centers.


NACPM Board Members

barbara_blotBarbara Desamours Blot, LM, CPM, BSN, completed Midwifery School at Miami Dade College in 2001 and immediately began a Home Birth practice, working alongside several Midwives to gain knowledge and experience. In 2009, upon completing nursing school, Barbara expanded her skills and joined Dr. Spence in his OB/GYN practice as a Licensed Midwife/Registered Nurse. Barbara joined the Hollywood Birth Center in the summer of 2011, using her combined knowledge and skills as an RN and Licensed Midwife to fulfill many families’ desire for an empowering birthing experience.

jamie_eidsathJamie A. Eidsath, CPM, joined the board in 2013 to work with NACPM in opposing racism in midwifery and supporting CPM inclusion in state and national legislation. She is a partner at New Moon Midwifery, a homebirth practice in Ann Arbor, Michigan. Photo courtesy of Michelle Massey Barnes

autumn_vergoAutumn Vergo, CPM, NHCM, RN, owns a freestanding birth center in New Hampshire. She is also a midwifery skills instructor and works on several collaborative quality improvement projects in Northern New England. Autumn is the Membership Team leader and represents NACPM at the National Quality forum and as an observer to the International Confederation of Midwives.